CENTRAL UNIVERSITY OF ODISHA, KORAPUT

OFFICE OF THE PUBLIC RELATIONS

PRESS RELEASE, DATE 02.04.2022

Central University of Odisha celebrates Utkal Divas

The Central University of Odisha celebrated Utkal Divas at its campus in a befitting manner on 01 April 2022. On this occasion, a special lecture on 'Utkal Divas and Odishara Parichaya' was organized. Eminent Odia writer Shri Dash Benhur, addressed the auspicious gathering as the chief guest. Prof. S. K. Palita, Vice-Chancellor in charge of the University inaugurated the program and delivered the presidential address. He highlighted the history and importance of the celebration of Utkal Divas starting from the Kalinga war to the creation of modern Odisha. He said "In India although states were formed and reorganized on the basis of language after Independence, but the Odisha is the first state in India created on the basis of language much prior to Independence. We must salute to the great leaders and their contribution towards creations of modern Odisha and for establishing its own identity". He advised students to know about the rich culture and heritage of Odisha and feel proud as Odia.

Sh. Dash Benhur highlighted the various developments and the contribution of great leaders starting from Utkal Gourav Madhusudan Das, Utkalamani Pandit Gopabandhu, Maharaja Krushna Chandra Gajapati and Maharaja Vikram Dev for the creation of modern Odisha on 01 April 1936. He said "Celebrating Utkal Diwas is not only the celebration of the birthday of Odisha but also we are celebrating the day to recognize ourselves. On this day, the great leaders should be given respect and Keep them remembered forever for whose efforts Odisha got the identity of a special state".

The Utkal Divas programme was attended by large number of students, research scholars and faculty members. Dr. Ram Shankar, Controller of Examinations spoke on this occasion. Dr. Ramendra Kumar Padhi, HoD in charge of Dept. of Education delivered the welcome address and Dr. Debabrata Panda, Asst. Professor, Dept. of Biodiversity and Conservation of National Resource extended the vote of thanks. Dr. Jayant Kumar Nayaka, Dr. Sanjeet Kumar Das, Dr. Ganesha Prasad Sahu, Dr. Mahesh Panda, Dr. Kakoli Banerjee, Dr. Rudrani Mohanty, Dr. Pradosh Kumar Swain and many faculty members of the University and Dr. Phaguanth Bhoi, Public Relation Officer were present at large on this occasion.

Dr. Phagunath Bhoi, Public Relations Officer